extracting information from unsteady html source

Topics: Developer Forum
Aug 3, 2009 at 7:38 AM

Hi. I am a student and i have a project about getting some required information from an unsteady html source.

Firstly, in order to get texts which are bold, i tried to make many regular expression.But, i couldn't make a useful expression.Also, source of html is so long. Later, I thought to take only tables out from the source. "<table>(.*?)</table>" However, there were many tables and only 3 of these were required. Then, i noticed a comment line in the source. Required tables are between these comment lines.

"<!-- big table start -->" "<!-- big table end -->" After that, i decided to take lines between these comments out.

WebClient wClient = new WebClient();
                string source = wClient.DownloadString("link");

RegexOptions options = RegexOptions.IgnoreCase | RegexOptions.Singleline;
                Regex regX = new Regex("<!-- big table start -->(?<theBody>.*)<!-- big table end -->", options);

Match match = regX.Match(source);
                string theBody = "";
                if (match.Success)
                    theBody = match.Value;
                    if (theBody != null && theBody != "")
                        textBox1.Text = theBody;

StreamWriter sw = new StreamWriter("source.html");
                foreach (char line in theBody)
            catch (Exception ex)